Indio DUI Lawyer
Aggressive Defense in Palm desert
If you have been arrested for DUI, it could have a devastating impact on your life. The Law Offices of Anastacio De La Cruz is here to help you fight your charges to protect your rights and driving privileges.
Our Indio DUI attorney has several years of experience defending clients facing drunk driving charges. You can trust that we have the knowledge and resources necessary to help you build a strong defense.
Call (760) 610-0606 today to discuss your case with an aggressive criminal defense lawyer.
BAC Limits in California
It is common knowledge that too much alcohol impairs people's judgment. That is why there are laws in place that restrict the amount of alcohol that can be in a person's system when they are driving an automobile.
In California, it is illegal for any individual over 21 years of age to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of 0.08% or higher. For drivers younger than 21, and anyone on DUI probation, the BAC limit is reduced to 0.01% or higher.
A person's BAC can be measured in one of two ways: a breath or blood test. Both of these tests are considered reliable means of measuring someone's BAC, and both are admissible in court as evidence that an individual was driving drunk.
The Penalties for DUI
If you are convicted of DUI in California, you could face several harsh consequences. The specific penalties imposed depends on the number of previous DUI convictions you have in the last 10 years and any aggravating factors present in your case. Whatever your particular situation, guidelines are in place that set the minimum and maximum punishments that a judge can impose.
The maximum and minimum penalties for a DUI conviction include:
- First DUI offense: $390 to $1,000 in fines, 48 hours to 6 months in jail, a 6-month driver’s license suspension from the criminal court, and a 4-month DMV administrative driver’s license suspension
- Second DUI offense: $390 to $1,000 in fines, 96 hours to 1 year in jail, a 2-year driver’s license suspension from the criminal court, and a 12-month DMV administrative driver’s license suspension
- Third DUI offense: $390 to $1,000 in fines, 120 days to 1 year in jail, a 3-year driver’s license suspension from the criminal court, and a 12-month DMV administrative driver’s license suspension
If you injure or cause the death of another person in a DUI accident, the penalties could be harsher. These types of crimes can be prosecuted as either misdemeanors or felonies, and the punishments for such offenses vary greatly. For example, a conviction for a felony DUI with injuries could result in 16 months to 4 years in prison and fines between $390 and $5,000.
No matter the particular circumstances around your DUI charges, the stakes are high. For the sake of your freedom and your future, make sure you acquire experienced legal counsel as soon as possible. The Law Offices of Anastacio De La Cruz is here to support and guide you through this challenging time. Our Indio DUI lawyer can evaluate your situation and help determine how to proceed with your case.
“Mr. Anastacio De La Cruz is one hell of a good lawyer. He got my felony's vacated, and now I can go on with my life without that holding me back.”- William C.
“He's a very smart man. I strongly refer him to everyone's friends and family. He has helped me out it in two major cases, DUI and child custody.”- Junior M.
“I had five cases and he dismissed four of them with zero payment, no deductible, or points on my license. I absolutely recommend him.”- Francisco M.